recipes, wellness
Comments 3

Elderberry Syrup For The Immune!

I am so ready for Fall, how about you? It’s all about pumpkin, hallmark channel movies, and socks, right? Okay, there’s so much more and including seasonal vegetable harvest! And for me, it’s a time to get my immune up, and running for the season!

Meet your tiny yet powerful plant for this season, Elderberry!

Elderberry helps boost the immune system, improves the respiratory health, bone health, skincare, and aids digestion. Not only does it have amazing benefits, its nutritional value is just as bright – we’re talking minerals, iron, potassium, phosphorus, copper and many vitamins such as vitamin a, vitamin b, vitamin c, dietary fibers, and plenty more!

Note: Elderberry may NOT be consumed raw. You must rehydrate, and proceed with a boiling process before consuming. Sorry juice heads & raw enthusiasts!

You don’t have to spend a fortune boosting your immune, and cold prevention with store bought elderberry syrup. I love to make my own. I purchased this bag of organic elderberry from Viva Naturals for $12. This bag has already made twice the amount of 650ml of elderberry syrup.

I have adapted my recipe from Mountain Rose Herbs Classic Elderberry Syrup. To make it 100% vegan, simply replace the raw honey with Agave Syrup. I also cut the serving of agave in half (optional).

Freshly Homemade Elderberry Syrup! 100% Vegan + Organic. What A Colour, So Potent! **This picture was taken during the cooling process. The agave was not yet added to the recipe!**

I take two tablespoon a day, and feel great knowing that I am combating myself from the cold fall/winter coughing bug! Elderberry syrup makes for a great seasonal companion, and is easy to make at an affordable price.

CLASSIC ELDERBERRY SYRUP (From Mountain Roses Herbs)

4 cups cold water

2 cups organicΒ dried Elderberries

1 organicΒ cinnamon stick

1 tsp fresh grated organic ginger root or organicΒ dried ginger root

raw local honey (or organic agave syrup for a vegan recipe)

Directions:

To make the syrup, combine the berries and herbs with cold water in a pot and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and allow herbs to simmer for 30 to 40 minutes. Remove from heat and mash the berries in the liquid mixture. Strain the berries and herbs throughΒ cheeseclothΒ and squeeze out the juice. Measure the liquid and add an equal amount of honey. Gently heat the honey and juice for a few minutes until well combined. Do not boil! Bottle in sterilized glass.


 

Are you a fan of Elderberry? How do you combat your cold? Let me know in the comment below, I’d love to hear about your recipe!

xxap

3 Comments

  1. Thank you for mentioning that elderberries should be cooked. We have blue elderberries here in California. They work like common black elderberries.

    Like

    • Alive & Plants says

      You are welcome, Tony! I absolutely love the smell of Elderberries. That is amazing! I wish I could grow a some here in the south. I will look for black elderberries! πŸ™‚

      I am looking forward to following your blog!

      Have a lovely day!

      -xxap

      Liked by 1 person

      • I thought that we were the only ones who did not have black elderberries in America. I want to get some for the National Arbor Day Foundation; but I am hesitant to do so without knowing why they are not otherwise available here in California. (No other mail order catalog will send them to California. However, I can find no information on a quarantine.) I will not plant them if they are invasive. We have plenty of blue elderberries anyway.

        Like

Leave a Reply

